The main components of ECTS include:

I.  ECTS credits which are a numerical value allocated to course units to describe the student workload required to complete them. One credit is equivalent to a 30 hour study load, which includes everything that student has done (lectures, seminars, practical placements, individual learning). One term of fulltime-study (semester) is equivalent to 30 ECTS credits (accordingly one year is 60 ECTS credits, one trimester is 20 ECTS credits, that can be gained after attending courses successfully. No ECTS credits after unsuccessful courses.
2.  The information package, which supplies written information to students and staff on institutions, departments/faculties, the organisation and structure of studies and course units.
3.  The transcript of records, which shows students' learning achievements in a way which is comprehensive, commonly understood and easily transferable from one institution to another.
4.  The learning agreement covering the programme of study to be taken and the ECTS credits to be awarded for their satisfactory completion, committing both home and host institutions, as well as the student. Full academic recognition allows student mobility within the framework of the exchange programmes. Full academic recognition means that the study period abroad (including examinations or other forms of assessment) replaces a comparable period of study at the home university (including examinations or other forms of assessment), though the content of the agreed study programme may differ.